University of California San Francisco

MSS Honor Roll - 2019

MSS Honor Roll image

2019 Honor Roll

The annual Muriel Steele Society Honor Roll celebrates influential and inspiring women and gender minority faculty, fellows and residents in surgery and surgical sub-specialties. Current learners (both residents and medical students) are invited to nominate women who have had a positive impact on their training and the nominees are recognized at our annual MSS Grand Rounds.

Cardiothoracic Surgery

Barbara Hamilton, MD

Elaine Tseng, MD

Gavitt Woodard, MD

General Surgery

Nancy Ascher, MD, PhD

Tasce Bongiovanni, MD, MPP, MHS

Hillary Braun, MD

Ariane Christie, MD

Isabelle Chumfong, MD, MEng

Patricia Conroy, MD

Emily Finlayson, MD, MS

Yvonne Kelly, MD

Lucy Kornblith, MD

Carter Lebares, MD

Marisa (Pulcrano) Schwab, MD

Sanziana Roman, MD

Amanda Sammann, MD, MPH

Carolyn Seib, MD, MAS

Nichole Starr, MD, MPH

Lygia Stewart, MD

Mika Varma, MD

Lan Vu, MD

Katherine Stern, MD

Francisca Maertens, MD



Obstetrics and Gynecology

Joanne Gras, DO


Julie Schallhorn, MD, MS

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery 

Jennifer Perkins, DDS, MD

Orthopedic Surgery

Nicole Schroeder, MD

Coleen Sabatini, MD, MPH



Nina Zhao, MD

Plastic Surgery

Laura Wong, MD, PhD


Sima Porten, MD, MPH

Bogdana Schmidt, MD, MPH

Vascular Surgery 

Clara Gomez-Sanchez, MD

Jade Hiramoto, MD

Elizabeth Lancaster, MD