University of California San Francisco

Annual Awards & Honor Roll

Annual Awards & Honor Roll

Institutional and National Awards

Year AssociationAward NameAwardee
2024UCSF Exceptional PhysicianPatricia Conroy
2023AWSHilary Sanfey Outstanding Resident AwardNichole Starr
2023AWSDr Sally Abston's Attending AwardLygia Stewart
2023UCSFExceptional PhysicianHillary Braun
2022AWS40 Under 40Lucy Kornblith
2022UCSF Exceptional PhysicianCaitlin Collins
2022UCSFChancellor's Diversity AwardJulie Ann Sosa
2021ACSDr. Mary Edwards Walker Inspiring Women in Surgery AwardPeggy Knudson
2019AWSNina Starr Braunwald AwardLinda Reilly

The Muriel Steele Society Award

The Muriel Steele Society Award is given annually by the senior residents to a woman or other gender minority faculty member who embodies the spirit of Muriel Steele - a trailblazer working to identify and address the unmet needs among our surgical patients and whose research and/or clinical work is shifting the paradigms within our field in order to positively impact the experiences and outcomes of our current and future patients.

2023: Laura Esserman, MD
2022: Nancy Ascher, MD
2021: M. Margaret (Peggy) Knudson, MD
2020: Linda M. Reilly, MD
2019: Jasleen Kukreja, MD, MPH

The Muriel Steele Society Honor Roll

The annual Muriel Steele Society Honor Roll celebrates influential and inspiring women or other gender minority faculty, fellows and residents in surgery and surgical sub-specialties. Current trainees (both residents and medical students) are invited to nominate women who have had a positive impact on their training and the nominees are recognized at our annual Women in Surgery Reception. The list of past honorees can be found here: